Message us on WhatsApp

Canada · Business and investor immigration

Canadian Business Immigration by Province

Nine provinces and territories still run a business or entrepreneur stream. Two have closed theirs outright, and the federal Start-Up Visa is paused. Here is what each route costs, what it demands, and how it compares to buying residency or citizenship elsewhere.

Short answer: Canada has no citizenship by investment programme and no residency by investment programme. What it has instead is business immigration: you buy or build an active business, run it yourself, create at least one job, and permanent residence follows if you meet the agreement you signed. As of 29 August 2026, live provincial routes exist in British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Yukon and the Northwest Territories. Saskatchewan closed both of its streams permanently in March 2025. Ontario's Entrepreneur Stream was repealed on 30 May 2026 and the province currently has no business route at all.

Entry costs run from CAD 100,000 of investment outside Yellowknife, in rural Alberta or in regional British Columbia, up to CAD 500,000 in the Alberta Farm Stream. New Brunswick asks the least overall: CAD 500,000 net worth, CAD 150,000 invested, one job, CLB 4, no deposit.

Status of every route

Program status changed more in the past eighteen months than in the previous ten years. Federal nomination allocations were cut by half in 2025 and only partly restored for 2026, and provinces responded by closing business streams to protect their worker streams. This table is the current position.

Canadian business immigration status, 29 August 2026
Province or territory Stream Status What changed
British Columbia Entrepreneur Immigration: Base, Regional, Strategic Projects Open Monthly draws running through 25 August 2026
Alberta Graduate Entrepreneur, Foreign Graduate Entrepreneur, Rural Entrepreneur, Farm Open, heavily oversubscribed Only 60 entrepreneur nominations for all of 2026, against 217 applications in process
Manitoba Business Investor Stream: Entrepreneur and Farm Investor pathways Open, draws inactive No business draw reported in 2026. Confirm intake before filing
New Brunswick New Brunswick Business Immigration Stream Open Replaced the old Entrepreneurial Stream. Cheaper, and the CAD 100,000 deposit is gone
Nova Scotia Entrepreneur stream: Entrepreneur and International Graduates pathways Open Ten streams consolidated into four on 18 February 2026
Newfoundland and Labrador International Entrepreneur, International Graduate Entrepreneur Open Expression of interest system open, no application fee
Prince Edward Island Work Permit Stream, Business Impact category Open Assessed case by case on the value the business brings. Invitation numbers are not published
Yukon Yukon Business Nominee Program Open Decision on the initial application in 12 to 14 weeks
Northwest Territories NTNP Business Stream Open No waitlist. Lowest entry cost outside Yellowknife
Saskatchewan Entrepreneur, Farm Owner and Operator Permanently closed Both closed 27 March 2025 with no plan to reopen
Ontario Entrepreneur Stream Repealed Suspended December 2023, struck from the regulation 30 May 2026
Federal Start-Up Visa Paused Paused 30 June 2026. Applications already filed continue to be processed
Federal Self-Employed Persons Program Paused Stopped accepting applications 1 January 2026

Province by province

Each block below gives the published thresholds, the sequence you go through, and the thing that decides whether the route suits a particular family. Figures are in Canadian dollars.

British Columbia

Open

Three categories, and the one people overlook is Regional. It halves the money. In exchange you commit to a community outside Metro Vancouver, make an exploratory visit, and obtain a referral from that community before you can even register.

Base category

Net worth
$600,000
Investment
$200,000
Jobs
1 full-time
Language
CLB 4
Work permit first
Yes
Recent draw score
116 of 200

Regional category

Net worth
$300,000
Investment
$100,000
Jobs
1, within 420 days
Language
CLB 4
Extra steps
Exploratory visit, community referral
Invitations per draw
Fewer than 5, typically

Strategic Projects

For an established foreign company opening a British Columbia operation rather than an individual. CAD 500,000 of equity into the BC operation, three jobs for each key staff member transferred, up to five staff. There is no personal net worth test. Entry is by direct meeting with the programme, not by draw.

Who it suits: a family that wants a business in a major economy with a mature market, and can wait. British Columbia publishes stage times rather than an end-to-end figure, and the business performance period alone runs 550 to 610 days.

Alberta

Open, heavily oversubscribed

Alberta has the most varied menu and the tightest bottleneck. The four entrepreneur streams share 60 nominations for 2026. Thirty-three had been issued by 25 August with 217 business applications already in process. Treat Alberta as a strong fit on criteria and a competitive one in practice.

Alberta Advantage Immigration Program, entrepreneur streams
Stream Net worth Investment Language Defining requirement
Graduate Entrepreneur None published None mandatory, scored CLB 7 Degree from an Alberta publicly funded institution, valid post-graduation work permit
Foreign Graduate Entrepreneur None published $100,000 Calgary or Edmonton, $50,000 regional CLB 5 Foreign degree within 10 years, recommendation from a designated agency, business in a listed sector
Rural Entrepreneur $300,000 $100,000 CLB 4 Community support letter, exploratory visit, town under 100,000 people
Farm Stream $500,000 $500,000 farm equity Not published No expression of interest stage. Direct application, direct nomination

Worth knowing: the Farm Stream is the only entrepreneur route in Canada that nominates without a business performance agreement or a work permit stage first. For a farming family with capital, it is structurally the shortest path to permanent residence in the country.

The Graduate Entrepreneur Stream carries a real risk that goes unmentioned in most marketing. Approval is not a nomination and does not extend a post-graduation work permit. Applicants whose permit expires mid-process need a separate support letter, and Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada is not obliged to approve it.

New Brunswick

Open

The New Brunswick Business Immigration Stream replaced the old Entrepreneurial Stream, and almost every published comparison still quotes the old numbers. The new stream is materially easier on every axis: net worth down from CAD 600,000 to CAD 500,000, investment down from CAD 250,000 to CAD 150,000, jobs down from two to one, language down from CLB 5 to CLB 4, education down from a two-year credential to high school, and the CAD 100,000 security deposit removed entirely.

Net worth
$500,000 ($300,000 agriculture)
Investment
$150,000
Deposit
None
Jobs
1 full-time
Language
CLB 4
Ownership
33.3% and active management
Residency
75% of the establishment period, within 100 km of the business
Fee
$2,000 on invitation

Who it suits: on published criteria this is the least demanding business immigration route in Canada. The trade is location. You are committing to live in New Brunswick, run the business in person, and open it within nine months of arriving.

Nova Scotia

Open

Nova Scotia consolidated ten streams into four on 18 February 2026. The Entrepreneur Stream and the International Graduate Entrepreneur Stream are now two pathways inside one stream, with the criteria carried over.

Net worth
$600,000 in Halifax, $400,000 outside
Investment
$150,000 in Halifax, $100,000 outside
Jobs
1 full-time equivalent
Language
CLB 5
Ownership
One third of equity
Experience
3 years owning, or 5 years senior management
Operating period
1 year before nomination
Age
21 and over, no upper limit

The International Graduates pathway asks for no net worth and no investment at all. It requires CLB 7, a credential from at least two years of in-person study at a Nova Scotia institution, and one continuous year already spent owning and running a Nova Scotia business.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Open

Higher net worth than New Brunswick, no application fee, no deposit, and a published points grid you can score yourself against before spending anything.

Net worth
$600,000
Investment
$200,000 with 33.3% ownership
Jobs
1 full-time equivalent at prevailing wage
Language
CLB 5
Pass mark
72 of 120
Age
21 to 59
Deposit
None
Operating period
1 year, managed from the premises

The International Graduate Entrepreneur category has no net worth and no investment minimum. It requires a credential from Memorial University or College of the North Atlantic, CLB 7, and one year already running the business.

Manitoba

Open, draws inactive

Two pathways, and they work very differently. The Entrepreneur Pathway is competitive and work-permit-first. The Farm Investor Pathway is a direct nomination with no draws and no points ranking at all, which makes it unusually predictable.

Entrepreneur net worth
$500,000
Entrepreneur investment
$250,000 in Winnipeg, $150,000 outside
Entrepreneur language
CLB 5
Entrepreneur deposit
None
Farm net worth
$500,000
Farm investment
$300,000 in farm assets
Farm deposit
$75,000, refundable
Farm language
No minimum published

No Manitoba business draw has been reported in 2026, and the province appears to be assessing submissions case by case rather than through competitive rounds. Confirm current intake with the province before committing to this route.

Yukon

Open

The Yukon Business Nominee Program is the only route in Canada that requires a liquid asset test on top of net worth, and it wants your net worth verified by a Yukon accounting firm rather than any third party you choose.

Net worth
$500,000
Liquid assets
$300,000 minimum
Investment
$300,000 over the first 2 years
Pass mark
65 points
Experience
3 years entrepreneurial, 5 years work
Your role
Must hold a NOC TEER 0 or 1 position
First decision
12 to 14 weeks
Work permit
2 years, then permanent residence

Northwest Territories

Open

The cheapest published entry point in Canada if you settle outside Yellowknife, and the programme advertises no waitlist.

Net worth, Yellowknife
$500,000
Net worth, outside
$250,000
Investment, Yellowknife
$200,000
Investment, outside
$100,000
Ownership
33.3%, or $1,000,000 personal equity
Language
CLB 4
Development period
2 years under a performance agreement
Mandatory
Exploratory visit and in-person interview

Prince Edward Island

Open

Prince Edward Island works differently from the draw-based provinces, and it is worth understanding before you compare it to them. The province does not publish how many business invitations it issues. It reviews every business application that reaches it and decides case by case whether that particular business brings value to the Island. A strong, specific proposal in a sector the province wants is the thing that moves an application, not a score that clears a published cut-off.

Net worth
$600,000
Investment
$150,000, plus $75,000 operating expenses
Application fee
$10,000, non-refundable after interview
Physical presence
274 days per year
Language
CLB 4, spouse CLB 6
Ownership
20% minimum
Selection
Case by case, on value to the province
Invitation numbers
Not published by the province

What this means in practice: you cannot benchmark yourself against a published score the way you can in British Columbia or Newfoundland and Labrador. The business case carries the application. The 274-day physical presence rule is also the strictest in the country, so Prince Edward Island suits a family who genuinely intend to live there rather than one looking for the lowest threshold.

Where the door has shut

Ontario has no business immigration route

The Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program suspended its Entrepreneur Stream on 4 December 2023 and never reopened it. On 30 May 2026 amendments to Ontario Regulation 421/17 took effect and repealed all nine nomination categories, the entrepreneur category among them. The former stream page now redirects to the government's web archive. On 26 June 2026 the eight remaining worker and graduate streams closed permanently, and on 4 August 2026 the Ontario Workforce Priority Stream opened as the only live route.

That stream is employer-driven and explicitly excludes self-employed applicants and anyone without an employer and employee relationship, with an exception for physicians. Ontario has signalled a redesigned programme that may include an entrepreneur stream, but has published no criteria, no thresholds and no launch date. Any advertised Ontario entrepreneur pathway in 2026 does not exist.

Saskatchewan closed permanently

On 27 March 2025 Saskatchewan closed the Entrepreneur, International Graduate Entrepreneur and Farm Owner and Operator categories permanently. Applications already in the system continue to completion. No reopening has been announced. The programme navigation still lists the categories, which misleads people; every underlying page carries the closure notice.

Federal routes and work permits

The Start-Up Visa was paused on 30 June 2026. The federal Self-Employed Persons Program was paused on 1 January 2026. Federal business admissions are targeted at 500 people for 2026, which represents processing of the existing backlog rather than new intake. Provincial nomination is now the practical federal-level route to permanent residence for business owners, with 91,500 nominations nationally in 2026.

What happened to the Start-Up Visa

New applications stopped on 1 January 2026. Holders of a valid 2025 commitment certificate had until 30 June 2026 to file, and on that date the programme was paused. Applications already accepted continue to be processed, with priority given to files backed by designated investors over incubator-only files, and to applicants already in Canada on Start-Up Visa work permits. Those permit holders may extend while permanent residence is pending. A replacement pilot for immigrant entrepreneurs has been signalled with details expected during 2026. Nothing has launched as of 29 August 2026, and any specific criteria circulating in the market are speculation.

The C11 work permit is not a permanent residence route

This is the most commonly mis-sold point in Canadian business immigration. The C11 exemption under R205(a) requires the applicant to be seeking temporary residence only, on a temporary or seasonal basis, with a plan to leave Canada. It runs a maximum of 18 months as standard and requires control of at least 51 percent of the business. Applicants pursuing permanent residence use C60, which covers provincial business nominees, or A77 under the Start-Up Business Class. Anyone selling C11 as a path to permanent residence is describing something the instructions specifically exclude.

Owner-operator LMIA

Employment and Social Development Canada ended the owner-operator exemption on 1 April 2021. It has not returned. An owner applying for a labour market impact assessment today is assessed like any other employer, including recruitment and genuineness testing, with no concession for ownership.

Intra-company transfers

For an existing foreign business, the intra-company transferee route is often faster than any entrepreneur stream. C61 covers establishing a new Canadian enterprise and runs one year with no extension. C62 covers executives and senior managers, up to three years initially with two-year renewals to a seven-year cap. C63 covers specialised knowledge workers with a five-year cap. All three require one year of continuous full-time employment abroad in a similar role within the preceding three years, a qualifying parent, subsidiary, branch or affiliate relationship, and a multinational with revenue-generating operations in at least two countries. Supplier arrangements, licensing deals and franchise agreements do not create a qualifying relationship, and a Canadian entity without physical commercial premises will fail.

Full comparison table

Live Canadian business immigration streams, all figures in Canadian dollars, verified 29 August 2026
Stream Net worth Investment Jobs Language Deposit Work permit first
NWT Business, outside Yellowknife $250,000 $100,000 Not specified CLB 4 None published No
BC Entrepreneur, Regional $300,000 $100,000 1 CLB 4 None Yes
Alberta Rural Entrepreneur $300,000 $100,000 1 CLB 4 None Yes
Nova Scotia Entrepreneur, outside Halifax $400,000 $100,000 1 CLB 5 None Yes
New Brunswick Business Immigration $500,000 $150,000 1 CLB 4 None Yes
Manitoba Entrepreneur, outside Winnipeg $500,000 $150,000 1 CLB 5 None Yes
NWT Business, Yellowknife $500,000 $200,000 Not specified CLB 4 None published No
Manitoba Entrepreneur, Winnipeg $500,000 $250,000 1 CLB 5 None Yes
Yukon Business Nominee $500,000 $300,000 Not specified Not published None published Yes
Alberta Farm $500,000 $500,000 Not specified Not published None No, direct nomination
Manitoba Farm Investor $500,000 $300,000 None No minimum $75,000 refundable No, direct nomination
Nova Scotia Entrepreneur, Halifax $600,000 $150,000 1 CLB 5 None Yes
BC Entrepreneur, Base $600,000 $200,000 1 CLB 4 None Yes
Newfoundland International Entrepreneur $600,000 $200,000 1 CLB 5 None Yes
PEI Business Impact $600,000 $150,000 plus $75,000 opex Not specified CLB 4 $10,000 fee Yes
Alberta Foreign Graduate Entrepreneur None published $50,000 to $100,000 Not mandatory CLB 5 None Yes
Alberta Graduate Entrepreneur None published Scored, not mandatory Not mandatory CLB 7 None No, uses existing permit
Nova Scotia International Graduates None None Not specified CLB 7 None No, uses existing permit
Newfoundland International Graduate None None 1 CLB 7 None No, uses existing permit
BC Strategic Projects None personal $500,000 corporate 3 per key staff CLB 4 None Yes

Sorted by net worth, then investment. Graduate pathways sit at the bottom because they ask for no capital and buy that with a much higher language bar and a Canadian credential.

Canada against citizenship and residency by investment

Canada offers no programme where money alone produces status. Every route requires an active business you personally manage, physical residence in a named province, and a language test. Caribbean citizenship by investment produces a passport in five to eighteen months with no residence requirement and no business. These are different products solving different problems, and a family that wants both usually needs both.

The table below sets the Canadian numbers against what the same capital buys elsewhere.

Citizenship and residency by investment, verified 29 August 2026, figures in US dollars unless noted
Programme What you get Minimum Residence required Realistic timeline Note
Dominica Citizenship $200,000 None 9 months average Cheapest single-applicant entry in the Caribbean
Antigua and Barbuda Citizenship $230,000 5 days in 5 years, moving to 30 14 months average Second slowest of the five
Grenada Citizenship $235,000 30 days in 5 years, commencing 7 months average Only Caribbean programme with a US E-2 treaty
St Lucia Citizenship $240,000 None stated 18 months average Official guidance says 90 days. Measured data says otherwise
St Kitts and Nevis Citizenship $250,000 None currently 5.1 months average Fastest in the region. Biometrics mandatory from April 2026
São Tomé and Príncipe Citizenship $90,000 reported None reported 2 to 2.5 months reported Roughly 71 destinations, no Schengen, UK, US or Canada. New and untested
Portugal Golden Visa Residence €250,000 cultural, €500,000 fund 7 days year one, 14 days per 2 years after Long AIMA queue Citizenship now 10 years for non-EU, non-CPLP nationals, counted from permit issue
Greece Golden Visa Residence €250,000 to €800,000 by region None Months New €250,000 startup route requires 2 jobs within 12 months
Australia National Innovation visa Permanent residence on grant No investment threshold Standard 6 to 12 months Merit-based. Nomination mandatory. Replaced the closed business visa programme
New Zealand Active Investor Plus Residence NZ$5m growth, NZ$10m balanced 21 days over 3 years, or 105 over 5 36 working days to approval English requirement removed in the 2025 reset
UAE Golden Visa 10-year renewable residence AED 2m None. Absence rule waived About 5 days No route to citizenship
Canada, best case Permanent residence CAD 100,000 invested Full relocation and active management 3 to 5 years Citizenship after 3 years of physical presence as a permanent resident

The three things that actually separate them

  1. Canada asks for your life, not just your capital. Every provincial stream requires you to live there, manage the business in person, and hire locally. New Brunswick wants you within 100 kilometres of the business. Prince Edward Island wants 274 days a year. Caribbean citizenship asks for nothing beyond due diligence, and in most cases not even a visit.
  2. Canada delivers a passport, eventually. Permanent residence converts to citizenship after three years of physical presence, and a Canadian passport is worth considerably more than any programme in the table. Portugal now takes ten years for most non-EU nationals, counted from the date the first permit issues rather than from application. New Zealand and Greece do not realistically convert to citizenship at all on minimal-presence settings.
  3. The published processing times are not the real ones. St Lucia's official guidance says 90 days; measured data across recent applications says eighteen months. Portugal's statutory decision period says 90 days; the actual queue runs years. British Columbia publishes stage times that sum to several years and no end-to-end figure at all. I quote clients the measured number, not the advertised one.

Most families need two documents, not one

The question I am asked is usually "which programme should I do". The better question is what each document is for, because a family under pressure normally needs two things that no single programme delivers at once.

The first is a travel document, and you need it soon. A passport that lets you board a plane, open a bank account, register a company, and move without waiting on a visa appointment in a country you are trying to leave. Caribbean citizenship does this in five to eighteen months. São Tomé and Príncipe is being marketed as a cheaper version at around US$90,000 and it does produce a passport, but it opens roughly 71 destinations with no Schengen, no United Kingdom, no United States and no Canada, and the programme is barely a year old with approvals in the tens. It is a document, not mobility. I will explain it to a client who asks and I will tell them plainly what it does not do.

The second is the place the family actually ends up. Where the children go to school and where the tax residence eventually sits. That is Canada, Australia, or a European residence that genuinely converts to citizenship. These take years and require you to move.

Running both at once is normal and there is no conflict between them. A family takes St Kitts and Nevis or Grenada for the travel document, and files a New Brunswick or Nova Scotia business application, or an Australian National Innovation visa, for the destination. The first buys freedom of movement during the years the second one takes. We build both halves of that plan in-house, which is the reason to have one advisor across the whole picture rather than a different firm for each document.

What else we advise on

This page covers Canadian business immigration and sets it against the investment migration alternatives. It is one part of what we do. The rest:

Bluewater Immigration programme coverage
Region What we handle
Canada Express Entry and Canadian Experience Class, provincial nominee programmes, business and entrepreneur streams, intra-company transfer and C11 work permits, work permit extensions and restorations, family sponsorship, procedural fairness letter responses and refusal recovery
Caribbean Citizenship by investment in St Kitts and Nevis, Dominica, Grenada, Antigua and Barbuda and St Lucia, and selected newer routes for clients who need a travel document quickly
Europe Portugal residence including the fund and cultural project routes, Greece residence including the non-real-estate options, and selected Nordic founder and residence routes
Oceania Australia National Innovation visa (subclass 858), New Zealand Active Investor Plus
Latin America Costa Rica investor and rentista residence
Middle East UAE Golden Visa and residence structuring, supported from our Dubai office

The business itself, not only the application

Every stream on this page requires a real business, and that is where most families stall. Choosing what to run in a province you have never lived in is a harder problem than filling in the forms, and no application consultant solves it for you.

We work on both halves. If you would rather buy something already operating, with staff, customers and a trading history, we have access to businesses available for purchase across the provinces where these streams run, and we can assess whether a given one satisfies the programme as well as whether it is worth owning. If you would rather build, we can put you in front of people who open and grow businesses on the ground in the province you are moving to, and stay with it past the point of approval.

A business plan that satisfies a programme officer and a business that actually works are two different documents. You need both, and the second one is the one you live in.

How I would choose between them

Most families arrive at this decision having already been sold one answer. Here is the sorting I actually use.

If the goal is a Canadian passport for the family

Look at the provinces where you would genuinely live, not the ones with the lowest number. A business you do not want to run in a town you do not want to live in fails the performance agreement, and a failed performance agreement costs you the years as well as the money. New Brunswick, Nova Scotia outside Halifax and rural Alberta are the strongest combinations of achievable thresholds and real economies.

If the goal is mobility this year

Canada cannot deliver it. Nothing in the provincial system produces status in under three years. St Kitts and Nevis at five months, or Grenada if a US E-2 treaty matters, does what Canada cannot. Families frequently take Caribbean citizenship for the travel document and start a Canadian provincial file in parallel, and there is no conflict between the two.

If you already own a business abroad

Test the intra-company transfer route before any entrepreneur stream. If your company has revenue-generating operations in two countries and you have a year of qualifying employment, C62 or C63 gets you into Canada in months rather than years, and provincial nomination or Express Entry can follow from inside the country. This is where most of our Canadian work sits.

If someone has quoted you a C11 work permit as a route to permanent residence

Ask them to show you the instruction that permits it. They cannot, because it says the opposite.

Questions people actually ask

Does Canada have a citizenship by investment programme?

No. Canada has never had one and has no residency by investment programme either. The closest equivalents are provincial business immigration streams, which require you to own and actively manage a business, create at least one job, and live in that province. Passive investment does not qualify for status in Canada.

Which Canadian provinces still have a business immigration programme in 2026?

British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Yukon and the Northwest Territories all run live streams. Prince Edward Island assesses business applications case by case rather than through published draws and does not release invitation numbers. Saskatchewan closed its streams permanently in March 2025. Ontario's Entrepreneur Stream was repealed on 30 May 2026.

What is the cheapest business immigration route in Canada?

By investment, the Northwest Territories outside Yellowknife at CAD 100,000 investment on CAD 250,000 net worth. British Columbia Regional and Alberta Rural Entrepreneur also sit at CAD 100,000 investment on CAD 300,000 net worth. By overall difficulty, the New Brunswick Business Immigration Stream is the least demanding: CAD 500,000 net worth, CAD 150,000 invested, one job, CLB 4, high school education, no deposit.

Is the Start-Up Visa still open?

No. The Start-Up Visa was paused on 30 June 2026. New applications stopped on 1 January 2026, with a final window to 30 June for holders of a valid 2025 commitment certificate. Applications already accepted continue to be processed. A replacement entrepreneur pilot has been signalled but nothing has launched as of 29 August 2026.

Can I still apply to the Ontario Entrepreneur Stream?

No. It was suspended on 4 December 2023 and repealed from Ontario Regulation 421/17 on 30 May 2026. Ontario currently has no business immigration route of any kind. The only live stream is the Ontario Workforce Priority Stream, which is employer-driven and excludes self-employed applicants.

How long does provincial entrepreneur immigration take to get permanent residence?

Three to five years for most streams. The structure is what makes it slow: a work permit first, then twelve to twenty-four months of actually operating the business under a performance agreement, then nomination, then a federal permanent residence application. Alberta's Farm Stream and Manitoba's Farm Investor Pathway nominate directly without the operating period and run shorter. No province publishes an official end-to-end figure.

Do I get a work permit before permanent residence?

In most streams, yes. British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Manitoba's Entrepreneur Pathway, Yukon, Prince Edward Island and three of Alberta's four streams issue a support letter for a work permit after the business application is approved. You then move, open the business, and operate it before the province will nominate you. Alberta's Farm Stream and Manitoba's Farm Investor Pathway nominate directly instead.

What language level do I need?

CLB 4 in British Columbia, New Brunswick, the Northwest Territories, Prince Edward Island and Alberta's Rural Entrepreneur Stream. CLB 5 in Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Manitoba and Alberta's Foreign Graduate Entrepreneur Stream. CLB 7 for the graduate pathways in Alberta, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador, which is the trade for asking no capital.

Is a C11 work permit a route to permanent residence?

No. The C11 exemption requires you to be seeking temporary residence only, with a plan to leave Canada, and runs a maximum of eighteen months. Applicants pursuing permanent residence use C60, which covers provincial business nominees, or A77 under the Start-Up Business Class. C11 sold as a permanent residence pathway misstates the instruction it relies on.

How does Canadian business immigration compare with Caribbean citizenship by investment?

They solve different problems. Caribbean citizenship costs US$200,000 to US$250,000, requires no residence and no business, and delivers a passport in five to eighteen months. Canadian business immigration costs CAD 100,000 to CAD 500,000 invested, requires you to relocate and run a business, and delivers permanent residence in three to five years with citizenship available after three more years of physical presence. Families who want travel freedom now and a strong passport later often do both.

Can I buy a business that already exists?

Yes, and several provinces prefer it. Alberta's Rural Entrepreneur Stream waives the job creation requirement for a business succession and requires 100 percent ownership instead of 51. New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador all permit acquisitions, with conditions about maintaining existing staff terms and wages.

Do these programmes cover my spouse and children?

Yes. Provincial nomination leads to a permanent residence application that includes your spouse or partner and dependent children, and net worth is generally assessed on the family unit. Spouses receive open work permits in most cases, and children attend school at domestic rates once you hold a valid work permit.

Sources and verification

Every figure on this page was checked against the issuing government's own publication on 29 August 2026. Programme thresholds change without notice, and several provinces amended theirs during 2026. Confirm current requirements before acting.

Message me and tell me what you are solving

A comparison table cannot tell you which of these routes fits your family. That turns on where you would actually live, what you would actually run, and what your family needs first. Those are twenty minutes of conversation, not twenty pages of reading.

Send me a message on WhatsApp with your situation in a few lines. If there is something here worth pursuing, I will tell you which routes are worth your time and which are not, and the first consultation is free.

Message us on WhatsApp  ·  [email protected]  ·  Office +1 905 491 6839